Interactive Map Builder

The Interactive Map Builder is a plugin for WordPress and enables you to create interactive maps for your blog. You can configure an extensive set of options to fit the look and feel of your website.


There are many possible regions to display on a map. For example, you can…
  • Create a map of the whole world
  • Create a map of any continent .
  • Create maps of subcontinents , like Western Europe or North America
  • Create maps of any country . There are more than 200 to choose from.
  • Create maps of any US-State .
  • You can find a complete list of all available regions at the end of this page. Depending on the displayed region on the map, you can set the resolution of the maps borders. The following resolutions are available:
  • country borders are available for world, continent and subcontinent maps.
  • state and province borders are available for almost all countries, except for some very small countries and islands.
  • metro borders are available for the US map and an US-State.
  • Highlight regions or add markers

    There are two different modes available for a map:
  • Regions mode can be used to highlight countries, states/provinces and metro-areas.
  • Marker mode can be used to mark designated regions using bubbles.
  • Click Actions

    Click Actions allow to add special behaviour to the map when a region or marker is being clicked. The plugin comes with predefined click actions:
  • Show Text allows to show additional text for the clicked region or marker below the map.
  • Show image opens a lightbox with images.
  • Show bars displays a small chart below the map.
  • ...or create your own click action
  • Additional interactivity can be added with Tooltips . These become visible when the mouse pointer hits a highlighted region or marker.

    The Map Builder

    The map builder makes it easy to change the styling of a map. Some of the available customizations are:
  • background color of the map,
  • height and width,
  • border width and color,
  • marker size and opacity,
  • marker and region colors,
  • tooltip styling
  • All changes become visible right away in a preview. The plugin uses the Google Geo Chart API to render the maps.


    Once the map is saved, it can be inserted anywhere in your posts and pages using the shortcode.

    Import & Export

    Both maps and click actions can be exported and imported. So copying from one blog to another becomes very easy. Most of the examples from this site can be imported with the code below the map. Furthermore, the plugin allows to download an export file of a map to store a backup copy.

    HTML5 and SVG

    The generated output is cross-browser compatible (with VML for older IE browsers) and also works on mobile platforms like iOS and Android. No plugins are needed.


    If needed, the maps automatically resize to fit to the available width.

    Complete list with all available regions

    Table with the possible continents, sub-continents and countries: Continents (5) Sub-Continents (22) Countries (236) Africa Northern Africa Algeria, Egypt, Western Sahara, Libya, Morocco, Sudan, Tunisia Western Africa Burkina Faso, Benin, Côte d’Ivoire, Cape Verde, Ghana, Gambia, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Liberia, Mali, Mauritania, Niger, Nigeria, Saint Helena, Sierra Leone, Senegal, Togo Middle Africa Angola, Congo, Central African Republic, Congo, Cameroon, Gabon, Equatorial Guinea, Sao Tome and Principe, Chad Eastern Africa Burundi, Djibouti, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Kenya, Comoros, Madagascar, Mauritius, Malawi, Mozambique, Réunion, Rwanda, Seychelles, Somalia, Tanzania, Uganda, Mayotte, Zambia, Zimbabwe Southern Africa Botswana, Lesotho, Namibia, Swaziland, South Africa Europe Northern Europe Guernsey, Jersey, Ã…land, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, Faroe Islands, United Kingdom, Ireland, Isle of Man, Iceland, Lithuania, Latvia, Norway, Sweden, Svalbard and Jan Mayen Western Europe Austria, Belgium, Switzerland, Germany, France, Liechtenstein, Luxembourg, Monaco, Netherlands Eastern Europe Bulgaria, Belarus, Czech Republic, Hungary, Moldova, Poland, Romania, Russia, Slovakia, Ukraine Southern Europe Andorra, Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Spain, Gibraltar, Greece, Croatia, Italy, Montenegro, Macedonia, Malta, Serbia, Portugal, Slovenia, San Marino, Holy See (Vatican City State) Americas Northern America Bermuda, Canada, Greenland, Saint Pierre and Miquelon, United States Caribbean Antigua and Barbuda, Anguilla, Aruba, Barbados, Saint Barthélemy, Bahamas, Cuba, Dominica, Dominican Republic, Grenada, Guadeloupe, Haiti, Jamaica, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Cayman Islands, Saint Lucia, Saint Martin (French part), Martinique, Montserrat, Puerto Rico, Turks and Caicos Islands, Trinidad and Tobago, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Virgin Islands (British), Virgin Islands (U.S.) Central America Belize, Costa Rica, Guatemala, Honduras, Mexico, Nicaragua, Panama, El Salvador South America Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Ecuador, Falkland Islands (Malvinas), French Guiana, Guyana, Peru, Paraguay, Suriname, Uruguay, Venezuela Asia Central Asia Turkmenistan, Tajikistan, Kyrgyzstan, Kazakhstan, Uzbekistan Eastern Asia China, Hong Kong, Japan, North Korea, South Korea, Mongolia, Macao, Taiwan Southern Asia Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Bhutan, India, Iran, Sri Lanka, Maldives, Nepal, Pakistan South-Eastern Asia Brunei, Indonesia, Cambodia, Laos, Myanmar, Malaysia, Philippines, Singapore, Thailand, Timor-Leste, Vietnam Western Asia United Arab Emirates, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Bahrain, Cyprus, Georgia, Israel, Iraq, Jordan, Kuwait, Lebanon, Oman, Palestine, State of, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, Syria, Turkey, Yemen Oceania Australia and New Zealand Australia, Norfolk Island, New Zealand Melanesia Fiji, New Caledonia, Papua New Guinea, Solomon Islands, Vanuatu Micronesia Federated States of Micronesia, Guam, Kiribati, Marshall Islands, Northern Mariana Islands, Nauru, Palau Polynesia American Samoa, Cook Islands, Niue, French Polynesia, Pitcairn, Tokelau, Tonga, Tuvalu, Wallis and Futuna, Samoa Table with the possible provinces: Provinces (51) United States Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming, District of Columbia